Poets logo

Memories

Love Your Loved Ones

By Andrea LawrencePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Created using Canva.

Letters with kind words

written by mom

kept in a box.

---

Sand between my toes,

ocean waves cover my ankles,

sand kept in a jar.

---

Lily chain on my head;

swinging on a wooden swing

that hangs off an apple tree.

---

At a cute shop,

I sniff pumpkin spice candles

and ask my husband what's his favorite candle.

---

Baby in my arms,

morning rays through the window,

stuffed animals neatly aligned on a shelf.

---

Dog sleeps on the floor.

A wet tennis ball rests near his mouth;

he wags his tail when he sees me.

---

Chocolate cake with lit birthday candles.

Friends together on a deck;

we laugh about old memories.

---

Swimming in a pool in July,

eating popsicles,

and jumping in puddles.

---

Catching snowflakes on my tongue,

making snow angels,

and drinking hot chocolate.

---

Seeing my mom

knowing she is okay

talking to her, even if

she might not know who I am.

---

Hiding under the Christmas tree,

playing with Christmas ornaments,

and writing letters to Santa.

---

Cutting hearts out of construction paper,

putting them on a string,

and hanging them up for Valentine's Day.

---

Holding my mom's hand,

feeding her pureed food,

and telling her I love you.

---

Putting on my Halloween costume,

walking in the rain with my orange bucket,

my mom holding my hand.

---

Sprawled out on the couch,

hurting bad, my first period.

My mom lets me skip school.

---

Rocking my baby to sleep,

playing lullabies,

feeling safe.

---

Showing my mom the sonogram.

She can't speak anymore, but she smiles.

Her eyes tell me she knows me.

sad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Andrea Lawrence

Freelance writer. Undergrad in Digital Film and Mass Media. Master's in English Creative Writing. Spent six years working as a journalist. Owns one dog and two cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.