Poets logo

Memories

By Young Poetic Queen

By Young Poetic QueenPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

“What is love?”

If you asked me that in the past, I wouldn’t know how to answer.

I still don’t.

I never fully knew what love looked, felt, sounded, or even smelled like.

Mainly because love didn’t exist in my memories.

Growing up, I didn’t have the best memories.

I grew up with memories

that became mental injuries

which were caused by my history.

My memories

depict the imagery

of all the hatred I would see,

of how the hatred abused my mentality,

But most importantly,

my childhood memories

depict the imagery

of how love never lived with me.

The first memory I have of my childhood

is watching my father slap my mother in the face when I was five.

Ever since then, I saw love as no-good.

I thought love was a lie and never alive.

I remember staring at both of them after it happened.

I looked at them with confusion and pain in my eyes while the pain also kept me silent.

I looked at the hand my father slapped her with.

Ever since then, I thought love was just a myth.

Ever since I was five, my memories

would depict the imagery

of how love grew further away from me.

If it wasn’t home, I would receive hate at school.

If it wasn’t at school, I would receive hate every where else.

There’s a reason why I cry myself to sleep.

It’s because I didn’t believe love was something you could forever keep.

However, deep down I knew it existed. I just didn’t know how.

I was always confused about it while growing up.

I excelled in school, but love was always a subject I misunderstood.

I never understood how love was supposed to be real,

when my own heart was breaking into pieces that were hard to heal.

I tried to weld my heart back together as a whole, but I just kept on breaking and breaking and breaking and breaking and breaking!

I’ve been broken so many times that

I learned how to smile while bleeding.

I learned how to die while still breathing.

I learned how to put up a fake smile while crying.

I learned how to stop crying on command so that no one will really see how much I’m dying.

You see, I grew up with memories

that became mental injuries

which were caused by my history.

My memories

depict the imagery

of all the hatred I would see,

of how the hatred abused my mentality,

but most importantly,

my childhood memories

depict the imagery

of how love......never lived with me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Young Poetic Queen

My name is Yemima Kebede and I am Young Poetic Queen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.