Poets logo

Memories

An Epistolary Poem

By Lucas DeanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Dear Dad,

I hope this letter finds you well,

I miss you more than words can tell.

This field is full of new friends it's true,

But each day I still think of my time with you.

Thank you for the adventures we shared throughout the years

The fishing, the fires, and the hikes filled with cheers

The snow, the sleds, and chasing rabbits through the wood

Those are the moments that will always feel good

When you left me for college, I felt so alone,

But then you came back and took me along.

Our golden years on campus, oh what fun,

Supporting your team, their mascot we'd become.

You made time for me, through thick and thin,

And I knew your love would always win.

But now, I'm sorry I had to leave,

The pain too much for me to relieve.

I know it wasn't easy, the burden you bore,

Awake each night, by my side you swore.

I wish I could be there, to ease your pain,

But I'll always be with you, my love will remain.

Please don't be sad for too long,

In all that you do, you are always so strong.

Life is so short, make the most of each day,

Share your love with others, in your own way.

It's okay to be weak, and even shed a tear,

You deserve your own feelings, so please don’t fear.

Thank you for being the best friend,

A loyal partner until the very end.

I love you, Dad, and always will,

Until we meet again, on that heavenly hill.

Sincerely,

Your Faithful Companion

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Lucas Dean

Aspiring to be a writer, failing as a wage slave. Let me know your thoughts, criticism and opportunities.

Give me a follow if you like my content :)

You can find me on Upwork and Medium or read some of my earlier opinion articles here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.