Poets logo

Melting

losing yourself to the darkness

By Katy WynterPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Melting
Photo by Diane Picchiottino on Unsplash

I am wax,

Pull a flame over my face

And watch my skin

Drip off my bones.

Tie me to your bed,

Walk away,

And only come back

To clean up the mess.

Bottle me up,

Put me on a shelf-

Keep me safe

From everyone else.

I break apart,

More and more every day,

Allowing myself to be melted down

To fit a mold no one owns.

I’m tired of maintaining

This body,

I’m done fighting

To stay whole.

I am wax

Let me melt

So i don’t have

To be tired anymore.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.