Poets logo

Meeting

Original poem

By GrayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I ran into this tree

at my brother’s wedding,

I was so drunk. The bruise was funny green.

The tree? She had a game sense of humor.

The next morning she posed for a photo,

draped in autumn-orange.

I embarrassed her by asking,

and even more by complimenting

her dress thrifted from Vermont.

Like a fairytale princess (I said embarrassing)

she had dropped a saffron wrap at her feet,

and before she could retrieve it, or leave,

I snapped an inconsiderate picture—

though in real life, the gallant grounds-crew

raked everything up before the ceremony.

I didn’t bump into her again that trip.

I’m ashamed to admit, if not for the photo,

by Winter she would be barely recognizable.

Don’t get me wrong, she left an impression.

I don’t often get the chance to see her,

but she does get a ring once a year.

nature poetry

About the Creator

Gray

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    GWritten by Gray

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.