Poets logo

Meat Suit

For Bug

By Krissy AbbottPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Meat Suit

My daughter has become my son

And I still find him loads of fun

Although it’s fine to speculate

This world of ours has too much hate

I don’t want things to be so hard

Or him to always be on guard

But people like to have their say

He’ll have to hear it every day

And when his shoulders start to slope

I’ll still be here to give him hope

I’ll still be here to show him love,

remind him it comes from above

I know he sometimes cries at night

I have no way to make it right

I keep concerns inside me mute

And point out it’s a fine meat suit

A rental space, a holding cell

That he can change to serve him well

When he is ready to meet God,

He will not need to wear this bod

Although it is his home for now,

And he must make it his somehow

We’re so much more than these flesh sacs

So no one should slip through the cracks

I’ll cheer him on no matter what

I know that sometimes words can cut

And when life feels like a dark place

I’ll hold him close and kiss his face.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Krissy Abbott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.