Poets logo

Mea Culpa

My apologies

By Anna TorresPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Mea Culpa
Photo by I.am_nah on Unsplash

Decrepit demon, you keep me up at night. You keep me suffocated in between the blankets. You make me lose sleep in your tight embrace. I don’t look forward to when the sun sets. Can we burn your bones? Can we curse your soul back to hell? Supernatural entity, not everything can be fixed with a spell. Paralysis in a paranoid state sped up to avoid the endless night. Tortured beyond all common sense. My defensive wounds have taken flight. A withdrawal in the morning, a sharpened exorcism every evening. A funeral shroud for the taking. Red Death smiles as I break gravity. The laws of physics hold no sway. Dreaming away to erase these memories. A cure that doesn’t exist. You have ruined my well being. Mourning the loss of feeling. I bid you adieu with my venomous tongue. Can we trade possessions? Can we evict ourselves from existence? I’m sorry but I’m not sorry. One of must go. It’s my fault we’re here in this embrace. False hope for a captive hostage. I can’t breathe with your weight on top of me. Suffocating underneath a rescue that won’t come. Perishing along with brittle nails and a cerebral hemorrhage. This blood I offer in exchange for release. I’m sorry but I’m not sorry. Asphyxiation is something I look forward to. If I can’t be with you, I don’t want to live without you.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.