Poets logo

Me, in Technicolor

Best Spoken

By Davia BuchacherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Be brave - you too, can color your hair anything you want!

Red,

the beginning.

Red

like fire

is too easy.

Red like the brick

lining

my favorite street in my

hometown.

Red like my heartbeat

when I walk

barefoot

down the sidewalks of my

small town

downtown.

Red like my face

sunburnt

always under the sun

blistering,

heat-stroking

laughing.

Red like not

Stop

but go, play

BE.

Red like me.

Orange

here’s what’s next.

Orange

like the sunset

would be, could be.

Orange like the middle ground

between stop

and wait.

Orange like the peace-keeper

I hold in my heart,

pausing the pain

reminding of the

good

in others.

Orange like my twenties,

middle of fire and sun

blazing

but unsure –

bold

but mild.

Orange like me.

Yellow

oh my lord,

the yellow.

Yellow like the sun.

Yellow like daffodils and dandelions and

sunflowers.

Yellow like the backpack

I proudly wear

as a purse.

Yellow like the shoes

I can only wear three

months

of the year.

Yellow is my joy

Light

My love of sunshine

knows no bounds.

Yellow is the color

my friends would laughingly agree

is me

with my sunshiny smile

my bright, always-handy laugh

my love for all.

Yellow, most definitely,

like me.

Green

I pause here.

I claim yellow

as my own,

my favorite color

as if I were a five-year-old

with yellow ribbons

in my hair

yellow raggedy t-shirt

on

yellow socks over my

tennis shoes.

But my heart grows

when I see green.

but what would daffodils be

without the green

behind them?

Green like the

wild.

Green like the free spirit of the

trees.

Green like the growth

of summer –

something everyone longs for

but is gone

in a blink of an eye.

Green like a nomad

a drifter

an adventurer

a hero.

Green like me.

Blue

almost last.

Blue

like the sky

maybe.

Blue like where I am now

it’s complicated

deep

thoughtful

ever-changing.

Blue like head in the clouds

always dreaming the

next

big dream

big idea

coming up with ways

to make it happen.

Blue like early morning

with coffee in hand (always)

like midday

with head and heart alive

like night

with brilliance lighting up

my mind.

Blue like me.

Purple

the finale.

Purple

like the mountains

but it’s so much more.

Purple like rage

deep and dark

overwhelming

my darkest days.

Purple like bliss

calm and peace

reverence

my best days.

Purple like

depth

mystery

the secrets I hold from strangers

like

my jack-of-all-trades

skills of

baking

sewing

writing (most of all).

Purple like what’s beyond

the sunset.

Purple like the color

of my best friend’s soul.

Purple like me.

When I see

the rainbow

like someone painted their thumb

every color

and smudged it across

the deep grey and blue sky

I smile

my heart filling

with pure joy.

I am red

like go.

I am orange

like a middle ground.

I am yellow

like a child.

I am green

like adventure.

I am blue

like dreams.

I am purple

like the secrets beyond the sunset.

Who are you?

art
Like

About the Creator

Davia Buchacher

I was raised in an ever-growing town in southwest Montana. My heart belongs to this town, Bozeman, my dog, Poppy, and the feeling of furiously writing in a G2 0.38 pen on paper, time flying by as I tell a story. Instagram is @freelikeasong

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.