Poets logo

Me and You

A Poem

By Melina GiorgalletouPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I knew you once.

You used to be an everyday interaction in my life.

But now you are simply a quiet string of web hanging

like a distant memory in my brain.

I had a dream of you.

It was warm and familiar,

like we were never separated

by the harsh conditions of alcoholism.

Do you remember that one drunken night

when you saved me,

like you had nothing better to do,

from the arms of interest-takers

and lovers that failed to return my feelings?

You spend your night helping me

and taking care of me

and protecting me like the longtime

friend you were supposed to be.

But was it just that?

Was it ever just that?

Or are these just thoughts of might-have-beens

with a guy that was always just my best friend?

I had a dream that you were getting married,

and you were second-guessing,

and a part of me wanted to tell you

not to marry her,

but another part of me knew that

our lives were far too distant

and our memories were too far from reality

that it wasn't fair to you, or her, or me.

But I wanted to tell you so bad.

I wanted to admit everything to you.

I wanted to shake you to the core

and remind you of a time when it was just me and you

taking care of me at a time of need.

But I know that this will never happen.

It's not me and you anymore.

It's you and her -

and me holding onto a crippling dream

of us

like we were ever actually together...

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Melina Giorgalletou

Just a college student from Cyprus, living in NYC, trying to find herself through words and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.