Poets logo

Me and That Green Guy

I had a few beers, okay?

By Dana CrandellPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
27
Me and That Green Guy
Photo by Brian McMahon on Unsplash

I think I created a new persona for this one. I'm not sure I like him. P.S. I wasn't drinking. He was.

***

Welcome, dude! Can you hear me?

Does your brain understand?

I hauled ass here to greet you

When I saw your ship land!

____

Whoa, that's crazy! I hear you,

In my language, no less!

But your mouth isn't moving -

Tele... whatzit, I guess?

____

Ok, cool. Yeah, I'm frosty.

Not to worry, man, we're good.

Just jump on the back there,

And I'll show you the 'hood!

____

Yeah, it's safe, bro – or sis?

It's a bike! It's got class!

Like a car but with 2 wheels,

And it's cheaper on gas.

____

Oh, that's somethin' we get

From the oil underground.

See aaaaaall those big thingies

Bobbin' up and back down?

____

Yeah, we burn it, and it runs stuff.

We make stuff with it, too!

See that bottle on the ground there?

And those bags? That old shoe?

____

Yeah, it does make the air stink,

But we'll fix that one day.

And now we're doin' solar,

And li-thi-um, and, hey!

____

We've got new-cooler power!

That's clean energy!

Well, it killed a few fish,

But there's more in the sea!

____

Oh, and over there's Pantex,

Where we make little “boomers”

And some parts for the big ones.

That's where I got these “toomers.”

____

And those big ones are awesome!

We hide 'em all over.

Dude, they nuked that one island

And that war was over!

____

Oh, hey, man, we're gonna'

Be headed your way!

Yeah, we're launchin' stuff out there!

Couple dozen a day!

____

Wait, bud, hey, where you goin'?

We ain't started the tour.

Is that your middle finger?

Yeah, okay, real mature!

____

Oh, sure, you called friends!

Man, that's not even fair!

What are all those ships doin'

To that town over there?

____

Hey, man, we don't stand

For that crap in these parts!

Shit, my clothes are on fire!

Oh, that burns! Damn, that smarts!

***

Just a little something different for the Extraterrestrial Challenge. Lots of fun stuff in this one already. Check it out here:

You know the drill. If you enjoy the read, I enjoy hearts and comments! Thanks for reading!

social commentaryhumorCONTENT WARNING
27

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Bahahaha. My favorite, by far.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    😂 this one is perfect! Felt like I was along for the tour, and then wished I wasn’t. Haha! Great take on the challenge, Dana!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    This was fun Dana! Not your usual style but I appreciate the new avenue you took here! Great work!

  • This is so clever. Great job

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Lol! This was so fun and clever, Dana! ☺️❤️ I found myself thinking it'd be fun to have all this happen upon meeting an alien, and then I got to the end 😅 Congrats on Top Story! 🤗

  • That was fun

  • Harmony Kent8 months ago

    I enjoyed this so much. Many truisms here. Very well done, Dana! 💕🙂

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    He reminds me of Steve. Steve was my mediocre, mildly alcoholic, sort of abusive alter ego for The Uprising 😁 Maybe he is a bit of an ass, but I like him. If flaws are what makes a character real, he could practically walk off the page.

  • Hahahahahahahah this was hilarious! You're freaking funnyyyyyy!

  • Just a wee bit of tipsy fun. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    Hahahahaha...loved this. You covered so much about humans, the good and the bad, in this wonderful piece. Awesome work :)

  • Moe Radosevich8 months ago

    Ground control to major Tom, too much too funny buddy, 😂

  • Test8 months ago

    Haha. I guess you won't be the UN Ambassador to Space! Hilarious! So well done 💙Anneliese

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Light, and whimsically written!!! Laughing 😂

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    😂🤣This crack me up 😂

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    😂🤩Good one, Dana!!!

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    😂🤣😅🤣 Just friggin' awesome! LOL!

  • Ha, 😉Cool piece❤️📝👍

  • Celia in Underland8 months ago

    Bloody brilliant-I am laughing so hard! This stanza Oh, hey, man, we're gonna' 'Be headed your way! Yeah, we're launchin' stuff out there! Couple dozen a day!' So funny and so well done -Thank you for your awesomeness! 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.