Poets logo

Me And Myself

Daily Reflection

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
12
Me And Myself
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

“Well, what do you think?” I asked my reflection.

“I don’t know about pink, if you want my honest suggestion.”

“So, you think I should change? As I started rearranging

“Hang on, let me see it again,” it seemed to answer in haste.

“Never mind,” I insisted, “I’ll find something else.

“If you don’t like my answers, go ask somebody else.”

“I would, but I’m always stuck here, by myself “

“Well, that was just rude, I only did what you asked.” Then it knocked the mirror on the floor mumbling, “You’re a pain in the ass. “

I wanted to argue that she was being unfair, it must be really nice, only reflecting what’s there.

Then it dawned on me, I’m just too hard on myself. Why should I worry about the thoughts of somebody else.

I found my reflection in the window outside, I told myself, “sorry.” And we had a good cry.

“Remember, you’re the biggest critic and advocate for me, and I’m learning to love the reflection I see”

love poemssurreal poetryMental Healthinspirational
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore7 days ago

    This is fantastic. I particularly liked it must be really nice, only reflecting what’s there, but the message, overall, fantastic.

  • Mark Graham8 days ago

    How true for we should all find ways to like and love ourselves.

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Fantastic flow and rhymes!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • This was so deep and so true! Loved this!

  • ROCK 9 days ago

    Needed to read this as do a gazillion other humans; why do we get so hard on ourselves? You are beautiful inspirational person in pink or any color you reflect. Deserve Top Story so more folks can up their self image.

  • The last part, so important!

  • Dana Crandell9 days ago

    This is deep and highly inspirational. Impressive work, Kelli!

  • Ameer Bibi9 days ago

    Your reflection is your best friend though

  • Joe Patterson9 days ago

    Beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.