Poets logo

Me

A self-reflection piece.

By Tressa RosePublished 6 months ago 2 min read
3
Me
Photo by Denis Degioanni on Unsplash

"God made this for you."

That's what I told my mother

Handing her the flower.

~*~

The odd thing was

There was no talk of God in my household.

We were homeless at the time,

I was four years old.

Tragic events eventually led my parents

To the doors of a church

Where there would be a boy who tries to molest me.

"Is this God's people?"

~*~

I'm told I was made to obey God and man

That I am a lesser form of a man

Meant solely to get married young

To a man of God

Have his children

Take care of his home

Keep my body covered

And mind my words

For there is a fiery pit called hell

Made for Jezebels

Who do not follow this one true God

Of the King James Bible.

I was told I was made to stay home

To keep the house

And raise the children according to God's will.

~*~

God's Will..?

~*~

Is that where I'm destined to spend all my days

Praying to a God of hate, wrath and judgment?

Teaching my daughters to be subserviant to man

As I clean his clothes

Make his sandwiches

And lay still with open legs in his bed

While he takes me when he chooses

Being taught that pleasure for me is not just as important?

But in fact that the pleasure of a woman is a sin?

Am I just a womb to be fertilized with your ignorant seed?

As I teach my son how he is to rule over his wife?

~*~

Being taught to believe that good-hearted people

Will spend an eternity in misery and torture

Only because they didn't believe exactly how you told them to?

Pay tithing to a building where it's leaders get rich

And the congregations continue to stuggle

Balancing good works

With Hail Mary's...

~*~

No, not me.

I am more than just a wife

I am a partner

To someone who will put in the same efforts I do

In the relationship

You are not above me

Nor I above you.

My children with be taught to be free thinkers

And to stand up for what they believe in.

They will be encouraged to form their own beliefs

Behind who/what "God" is.

My sons will respect women

And my daughters will know the meaning of a truly good man.

~*~

I choose love above all else

Love towards myself

Just as much as towards others.

I choose to walk the path that is truest to me

By following my moral compass

And trusting the universe is guiding me

So long as I am willing to put my trust in it.

I follow no one

But the beating of my own heart.

I set my own journey

And destination

For I am free.

inspirationalCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    I found this very spiritually uplifting. Beautiful poem.

  • And that is why I don't want a man in my life. Lol. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.