Poets logo

Maybe Then...

When the world around us becomes exhausting, we look toward change.

By Brittany SwenkPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

This tired feeling never ends.

I could sleep for years and it would remain.

The exhaustion is in my soul...

The hatred in this world weighs heavy.

I keep feeling like I should fix it, but how?

I am one person.

One very tired woman.

I just want peace.

I want peace in this world,

In the people around me,

In my head and my heart.

I want the noise to stop;

The screaming, the anger, the hatred, the agony...

I want the world to lay quiet and to soak in the beauty within it.

To no longer focus on the complexity of differences from one person to another,

One place to another,

One language to another,

And instead focus on the beauty in so many incredible differences.

Perhaps if the world and all its anger and violence could rest...

Perhaps then I wouldn't be so tired...

inspirationalsad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Swenk

I have been writing for about 20 years, off and on. It’s been one of few things that has always made me happy. That and music and reading. I’m really hoping that joining this forum can help me find my way back there!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.