Poets logo

Maybe the Poets Were Right

It just takes the right person.

By Savannah MorganPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I always did this thing where I complained about how "poets" compare themselves to the planets and the stars and the universe because I thought it was total bullshit. How the hell can one people be made up of oceans and forests and mountains and valleys and stars and solar systems, right? How can one single people feel like the grass grows at their toes and volcanos run through their veins and forests grow on their eyelashes and planets sit on the tips of their tongues and stars burn on their fingertips? I didn't know... until I met you but from the moment I met you; the lava in my veins has warmed up and started flowing, the waterfalls in my eyes have started to run again, the mountains and valleys in my brain have become more alive than ever, and the gardens at my toes have bloomed with such dazzling colors, the planets on my tongue have come to life, and the stars on my fingertips have started to shine so brightly that I can finally see where I'm going and it's all leading me to you. So maybe I was wrong maybe we are all made up of parts of the universe, and it just takes the right person to wake it up.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.