Poets logo

maybe someday

Something a little different.

By Jonathan ApolloPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
6
Photo by Adobe Firefly AI

I rarely take on writing challenges, much less challenges from other writers... but something about a recent request from fellow Vocal writer Novel Allen intrigued me.

It's been a long while since I've done something like this. Go easy on me, folks.

maybe someday, i’ll forgive you for entering my orbit

maybe someday, i’ll forgive you for smiling my way

maybe someday, i’ll forgive you for being so vulnerable with me

maybe someday, i’ll forgive you for allowing me to do the same

*

maybe someday, i’ll look back at our long conversations with fondness

maybe someday, i’ll look back at you with warmth in my heart

maybe someday, i’ll look back at when you told your partner about me

maybe someday, i’ll look back at when I knew there was no going back

*

maybe someday, i won’t hate how you misunderstood my intent that day

maybe someday, i won’t hate that we didn’t just talk things through

maybe someday, i won’t hate those photos you took with our mutual friends

maybe someday, i won’t hate knowing how those photos made me feel

*

maybe someday, i’ll forgive myself for falling in love with you

maybe someday, i’ll forgive myself for telling another my truth

maybe someday, i’ll forgive myself for the pain i felt when they posted nude photos of you together

maybe someday, i’ll forgive myself for realizing the mistake you were all along

maybe someday, i’ll forgive the both of us... but not today.

Free Versesad poetrylove poems
6

About the Creator

Jonathan Apollo

I bang my keyboard and words come out. Sometimes, they're worth reading. Sometimes, they're even good.

40-something, M, NYC. He/Him/His. #TPWK

https://twitter.com/JonnyAWrites

http://www.facebook.com/JonnyAWrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 days ago

    Oh, that annoying Notifications, I miss so much in all that scrolling. Well, I have found your poem, and it is so filled with truth. See, pouring your heart out in words is such a balm. Maybe because poetry is my love. I love the honesty in your words.

  • Thoughtful and very easy to relate to. You've really written something wonderful here.

  • Sasi Kala14 days ago

    Your piece is beautifully poignant, capturing the complex emotions of regret, love, and eventual acceptance. The repetition of "maybe someday" effectively conveys the lingering hope and unresolved feelings. very nice!!

  • Ohhhh damn. There is duo many stories behind each line. How did writing this feel like? And also this line was just… TRUTH “maybe someday, i’ll forgive myself for falling in love with you”

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.