Poets logo

Master's Poem

Inspired by the book "Duishen"

By Esala GunathilakePublished 20 days ago 1 min read

Master, I can remember,

That was a frowzy evening,

My legs took me,

In the street of Lost Expectations,

But one grand-hearted noble was,

In my mind, even without letting me know,

That was you, my master,

Robbers surrounded me,

I was shaken as a leaf trembled with fear,

I was like a parrot in front of those hawks,

I was like a carrot in front of those wild rabbits,

My books were fallen down

As my teeny hands trembled,

You arose in my sky,

Like an elder brother who comes to save his sister,

Yes, my master,

I can remember,

Did it bruise you,

When they hit with bamboo?

Did you feel pain,

When they drag you along the barbed vines?

My whole world collapsed at my feet,

But what could I do?

With two delicate hands,

Still, I hear the yellings of you,

"Run my lass",

"Escape from these cruels",

I got the energy from those shouts,

But my mind was asking,

"Don't you see back his innocent face",

"Don't you soothe him by rubbing scratches on his chest",

I never met him after that,

Yes, my teacher,

Of course my savior,

I was reborn because of you,

Forgive this lass for torturing you!

inspirationalcelebritiesart

About the Creator

Esala Gunathilake

I am an enthusiastic writer who feel the sense of humanity. Thus, I can write stanzas, short stories, novels, articles and blogs as well. I am a blog contributor for the Ananda College Engineer's Ink student chapter website.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (21)

  • Real Poetic3 days ago

    Wow. Incredible. ❤️

  • Tariya Wells13 days ago

    Very moving. Thank you Esala for sharing :)

  • Staringale13 days ago

    I must say Esala! Brilliant work. I like the mentorship bond described in this poem.

  • "Run my lass" this is so heart touching Esala! I wonder how I missed this poem to read. Anyway randomly found this now.. Keep doing these miraculous work!

  • Iris Erdile16 days ago

    Love the parrot/carrot imagery :)

  • very creative.

  • peter16 days ago

    thanks because read my story

  • Abdul Qayyum17 days ago

    My legs took me, In the street of Lost Expectations, But one grand-hearted noble was, Very heart touching lines

  • nader Asaad18 days ago

    nice 👍

  • Sasi Kala19 days ago

    very nice poem!

  • Nice! Thank you! 💖

  • Novel Allen19 days ago

    I never knew frowsy was a real word, we used it back in the Caribbean to mean smelly, but I now know, thanks to you. the help of a kind person is a blessing.

  • L.C. Schäfer19 days ago

    I was really invested in the story this poem told

  • It's always a great feeling when your hero comes to your rescue. I love it so much! Best!

  • This was so poignant and profound! Loved your poem!

  • Colleen Walters20 days ago

    Hey, story writer! “ I was reborn because of you” I feel your story, well done sir- 😊😁👍

  • Sherif Saad20 days ago

    Great work! Go on!

  • Loved the poem...

  • Gloria Penelope20 days ago

    Great poem Esala.

  • RAVI KUMAR20 days ago

    nice

Esala GunathilakeWritten by Esala Gunathilake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.