Poets logo

Married to the City

A Poem

By MaxwellJBanksPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Married to the City
Photo by Paul Stuart McLean on Unsplash

Well let me introduce myself

My name is Charlotte

Some call me Charlie

Others don’t call me at all

Some call me boring

But I tell them it’s not me who’s yawning

I put that aside and move on with my life

I’ve been up and I’ve been down

But I don’t let that ruin a good time

I’ve ruined lives and broken hearts

But I know I’m in love with the City

I can’t help it, can’t fake it

I’m in love with the City

If I knew how, I’d change it

But the past is the Passed

Never going back

I think I’ve lived, but I’ve never been married

Never found the right one

But who is looking

I’ve had fun

I’ve been drunk

But I’ve never lost it all

And I know that I’m in love with the City

I’ve seen sights, I’ll see more

Because I’m married to the City

I can’t help it, can’t stop it

I’m married to the City

I’ve been locked down

I’ve been free, but I’m married to this City

This city robbed me, so I robbed it back

I paid for that, the City got me back

So I moved on, I had enough of that

And the City called me back

And I know

All through life

I’m married to the City.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

MaxwellJBanks

I am but a struggling poet with much to say, and an outlet that will make your day.

Enjoy Vocal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.