Poets logo

Many Souls in One Body: Possession

First Villanelle Poem|

By Ace MeleePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
20
Art AI-Generated by Dream Wombo, edited by Ace Melee via Picsart

In the same flesh and bones,

lost souls fight for control

like anti-heroes fighting for the throne.

------------------------------------------------------

The outside world is a blur and a metastable zone;

I hold myself. Crash! Clash! Bang! Bang! The war bells toll

in the same flesh and bones.

------------------------------------------------------

My mind! Why isn’t it my own?

The light screams when the caitiff bites its skull-- no time to console

like anti-heroes fighting for the throne.

-------------------------------------------------------

Their grueling voices are in my head; I’m not alone.

My only hope is to fight for my control when I'm not the only soul

in the same flesh and bones.

-------------------------------------------------------

The Devil gave me a chance to free myself, but I broke;

the spirits growl for their sovereignty and evoke Death to play his role

like anti-heroes fighting for the throne.

------------------------------------------------------

What my mind does next– the decision will be unknown

as someone else replaces my soul

in the same flesh and bones

like anti-heroes fighting for the throne.

sad poetry
20

About the Creator

Ace Melee

Hello, everyone! Creative writing is an essential asset for me since it frees my imagination from getting hit by the barrier of the skull. It hurts when it's locked in and roars when oppressed- it was destined to soar.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    Great villanelle! So creative and completely different. Love it.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Ace, this was rather dark and soul gripping! Nicely done!

  • Gosh this was so intense, poignant and emotional! Loved your Villanelle! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Legion, fighting for place, appearing mad when we cannot corral them. And who will make sense of us when we cannot make sense of ourselves?

  • k eleanor5 months ago

    This is too good! Congratulations on top story! ❤

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    You nailed this in a big way. I am encouraged by you to attempt this boggling thing. Congrats on TS.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Boom - back to say congrats - Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    This was so well done for your first attempt at a Villanelle! Was very thought-provoking and profound!

  • Cyrus5 months ago

    Great usage of onomatopoeia at the start!

  • Very deep and well-written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.