Poets logo

Mantle of Darkness

To those they could not burn . . .

By Lindsey RainwaterPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6

Darkness defines me

It is a comfortable mantle

Like a familiar sweater

Or the best blanket

I wrap darkness around myself

My cloak

My protected space

My savior

It has held me

Nurtured me

Been there for me

Every time I’ve needed it

When the light fails

Everything seems lost

I am shattered once again

Darkness greets me and folds me in

People don’t believe

In that darkness

My existence

My second chance

They see the smile

Hear my laugh

Love my acceptance

And decide for me . . .

That the darkness isn’t there

No matter, says I

They’ll see it

If they need it

Suddenly they will beg to share

When light fails them

And they need somewhere to go

They find themselves

Asking for a corner of my cloak

To touch the darkness

To not be seen

For a moment

To not be afraid

So I wrap them in it

There is plenty of room

Here in my darkness

For all in need

I pull it tight

Around us both

Tucking it under their chin

And drying their tears

And then

And then

Against all expectation

Something amazing happens

The darkness

That they so doubted

That they disliked

That they ignored

Comes Alive

Because my darkness

Is like the night

That allows the stars

To shine

That darkness

Is winter

When you see snow falling

And breath clouding

This darkness

Is the deepest sea

Where the strangest animals

Light their own way

Join me in my place

Of deep blues

And purple hues

Comfortable greys

Sit with me in silence

And hear the darkness

And magick of the ancients

Thrive

You can be dark here

In whatever hue you choose

Seeking out and healing

The witch they couldn’t burn

When you are folded

Into my darkness

Even when you feel

Your light has dimmed

I will show you

How much you still shine

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Lindsey Rainwater

I help people to claim their innate power and get better results from their spells and rituals - you can find me reading weird books, teaching my heathens, or writing. Usually writing. On whatever is nearby.

Check out my links to learn more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.