Poets logo

Manipulation by Lolly Vieira

I wrote this fucked up poem after my ex drank bleach at my doorstep to make me let him inside the day after he raped me. The good that came from this though was that this was the day a police officer handed me a domestic violence packet. It finally clicked that none of this was normal. I am thankful that day happened.

By Lolly VieiraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Manipulation by Lolly Vieira
Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

my eyes fixate on the bloody mess outside my front door

I pour a bottle of hydrogen peroxide

and that orange cleaner I use to mop the floors

onto the short, brown, ugly carpet

and scrub and scrub and scrub

your stain turns into a red and brown foam

that soaks through my paper towels

as bleach invades my nostrils

all my senses overwhelmed

with this olfactory and visual nightmare

a horror scene

you planned to die on my doorstep

how fucking poetic

like this plastic bag of bloody, bleach-soaked paper towels in my trashcan

and the faint scent of orange

like always, here I am, cleaning up your mess again

the mess you gifted to me

so I can feel guilty

for the fact that you are poison

you filled yourself with a liquid nearly as vile as you

and I promise myself that this will be the last time I clean up after you

I realize that an eternity alone would be paradise compared to one more second of this

traumatize me again

tell me I asked for it

I fucking dare you

there’s nothing left of me to hurt anymore

keep bombarding this empty shell if you please

you may yet be lucky enough to witness its decay

I’m sure that’d put a smile on your face

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.