Poets logo

Mama’s Love

Dedicated to my mom created by Mariann Carroll

By Mariann CarrollPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
7
Mama’s Love
Photo by jurien huggins on Unsplash

She work hard for her family

She was strict cause she cared

She made the best meal for her children

She made family time fun

She sacrificed her needs for her family

She dressed her family well

She made sure our house was a home

She defend her family like a mother hen

She keep her pain to herself

She don’t let anyone worry about her

She laugh and everyone laugh with her

She share her loved for her favorite TV shows

Elvis Movies

Murder She Wrote

I Love Lucy

Perry Mason show

Andy Griffin Show

Scooby-Doo

She love family game nights with popcorn

She sneak food in her big bag when the family goes to the movies

She have us sleeping in the back with blankets in Drive in movies

She made sure we read by taking her children to the Library

She read her favorite mystery books when riding the bus to work

She bring home treats for family when she come home from work.

She love her country and she made sure her children did, too.

She died of cancer and did not let her family worry about her.

She was selfless

I Love you, Mom and I miss you.

I hope you are at peace❤️🦋

( I dedicate this poem to my dear mom, Josefina 1945-2010)

****

I must confess it was not easy living up to your expectations.

I got confused of who, I really am. Am I American , Asian or Latino?

I had to find out who I really am and stop trying to let my parents define

Who I am. You have encouraged me to embrace other cultures including

My own cultures. Growing up , I could not relate to anyone like me.

, cause there were not a lot of kids with multi race. The one thing I did enjoy about multi race culture is the food. I learned to appreciate food behind the culture. I even enjoy foods that’s not part of my race culture.

I remember, I had a school project in school. It was a fair project in school.

I choice your country to write about but you took over the project . You end up wearing your country national dress . You brought all your native food dishes and pictures to these fair. You set the table up. You stood at the table answering the questions like it was your project. Looking back , I find it so funny. A parent who took over their child project cause they were so passionate about it. ( I fell in love with your country like the country, I was born in.) I always had two homes.

There was one point , and I am sorry about this, that I wish you were not my mom. That was because I was not good enough to be your daughter.

Everyone look at me differently, like I was exotic animal. I had an accent because of the languages, I had to learned to survive . It was tough to, trying to be ,Who? I did not have a role model at the time to relate to.

I appreciate myself now cause I stop living up to your expectations.

I want to thank you for introducing me to the world of reading books.

Reading is the only place, I felt at home and no judgements. Reading stories is a place I can go to without being worried . I can read a book and not be aware what’s happening around me. Reading was my escape world .

I never let depression get the best of me as a teenager because, books took me to a world I fantasize in being in.

I am truly thankful for you introducing me to the world of books. Thank you for buying me the books I loved to read if the library did not have them.

Here is a picture of my beautiful mother and me. I love you,I hope you are peace.

Photo of Mariann Carroll

You were a cool mom, sorry , I did not know how to appreciate you as I should.

I wanted you to always be my best friend and I had to learned how to share

You with my brothers.

I hope you see why I need to confess this story of mine.🌹

You were the best mom a child could ever have…..🥰

love poems
7

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Life Lesson2 years ago

    She sounds like an all-rounded mom. 👍

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Beautiful❤️ My mom loved some of the same shows.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    A beautiful tribute to your mom!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.