Poets logo

Making Matters Worse

A limerick about illness and medicine

By Staci TroiloPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11

The food made my stomach upset.

But now I am starting to fret.

The meds made it worse.

“You’re allergic,” said the nurse.

Now It’s the cure that I really regret.



___________

The only limericks I've ever heard are risqué, and I've never written one. I thought this sounded fun, so I wrote five (in various tones, from light-hearted to serious). I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoyed writing them.

fact or fiction
11

About the Creator

Staci Troilo

Staci's love for writing is only surpassed by her love for family and friends, and that relationship-centric focus is featured in her work, regardless of the genre she's currently immersed in. https://stacitroilo.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    Loved this one. And isn't that the truth about the cure?

  • Mae Clairabout a year ago

    I think you have a knack for limericks. This was great!

  • John W. Howellabout a year ago

    Loved it.

  • Jan Sikesabout a year ago

    Great limerick. It is often way too true!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    The humorous use of limerick poetry adds a fun and entertaining element to this relatable story of medical misfortune.

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    I'm nodding my head reading this one!

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    OMG, this is sadly so true. Brilliantly put, Staci 💕🙂

  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    Goodness, I've been there many times. Pharma dislikes me immensely. 😊

  • Joan Hallabout a year ago

    Been there, done that! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.