Poets logo

magnetic pull

almost a love story

By Poppy Published about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
46
Image Created on Midjourney

His presence was intoxicating before I even knew him. It was a captivating attraction and magnetic pull at first sight.

Shoulders shaped like unexpected warmth, a small smile that promised a hidden sense of humour, and eyes like gravity.

I was throwing myself over an edge, into the air, before he said a word. And then I was suspended there, dancing on cloud cover, alone with a daydream.

At first I got drunk off his existence, but then I sipped it, savoured it. There is something addictive about loving someone you can never have. Something humbling about holding the little moments with both hands, pressing them to your lips, breathing them in.

I wanted you, wished for your attention, cradled your words. This isn’t a love story, just something similar. Something close. Something almost as good.

Free Verselove poems
46

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Forspiya26 days ago

    People nowadays are really stressed so this is all for you https://vocal.media/poets/wings-of-resilience-a-journey-through-adversity

  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳 well deserved!

  • Blake Booth30 days ago

    This felt like the moment before a first kiss. To capture so much in so short a space and so powerfully, it shows the dedication you have put into your craft. For example, this paragraph: I was throwing myself over an edge, into the air, before he said a word. And then I was suspended there, dancing on cloud cover, alone with a daydream. Every word hit its mark and evoked something new. Wonderful job.

  • I love it! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Ameer Bibi30 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story I really like it the way you express love and thoughts

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a month ago

    Poppy this was a tantalizing read!! I love the imagery and feeling of forlorn we are left with!! This brought to mind that feel I sometimes get reading a novel with a character I absolutely adore... that sense of longing and knowing it can never happen! Great work here and congrats on Top Story!!

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Every line is just perfect and that ending is so stunning! Beautiful Poppy, truly 🤍

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Oh, I have felt this kind of magnetic love, knowing instinctively it would not work out but yearning for more of it even so. Astounding personification of unbridled passion. As always a well earned Top Story! Yours truly, ROCK

  • Brenton Fabout a month ago

    "This isn’t a love story, just something similar." Very well done Poppy, so very well done!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Beautiful in every way. Congrats on the TS.

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Congrats, Ms Thepoet on a fine Top Story!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fabulous!!! Superbly expressed!!!❤️❤️💕

  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    There was so much of this poem that I couldn't even begin to point out all the amazing parts that made it so damn good. Poetry like this is inspirational it makes you want to write better to be that good.

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    I love this relatable poem...so true and memory-evoking for me.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    "There is something addictive about loving someone you can never have." And I'm the biggest addict there ever is. Been addicted for 13 years now 😅

  • I've never heard such words in reference to me, though I've thought them of others more times than I wish to count. Beautiful in both sentiment & expression, Poppy.

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Loved the part about holding little moments and breathing them in! All very relatable! My husband has asked what I would have said if he’d asked me out sooner. I’ve said it was better he didn’t, needed that time to yearn and pine!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    ah, this is so on the money. I could pick it apart and choose favourite lines...but AJ has already stolen my favourite perhaps. I love how you've ended it...with the rather honest, almost bittersweet line. Well done, as always, Poppy!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Funny how we do that to ourselves. Almost yearn for a sense of yearning.

  • Anna about a month ago

    Oh wow! The way you just described every little part of the emotions is incredible! Well written!🥹

  • Beautifully written as always… you deserve the real deal 🤩

  • A. J. Schoenfeldabout a month ago

    So lovely. Favorite line "At first I got drunk off his existence, but then I sipped it, savoured it."

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Sometimes happiness finds us where we do not pursue it. A paradox and a parable. Well-wrought!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Been there done that. Very well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.