Poets logo

Magical Steps

Come on Home, Up the Tree

By Gretchen ArmerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

When the night sounds start

The wind goes away and comes back

Stained glass squares the perfect window

Here I sit, home at last, I know

I come up these steep winding steps to the top

Cabin perched, wifi running water and electricity stop

Echos far, beach walls of a eucalyptus castle

Yet I’m here, long at last, that is all

Decks round the perimeter to wave at the stars

None of this do I own or boast for many hours

Keep up with nothing but the needs of a day

Here I sit, for home to teach me what it may

How lost was I the callous traveler of the system

Sales jobs, offices, whims on fire, plump and thin

Dagger people cavorting towers of raw stakes

Giving cheese round all-hands meetings, thanks

This place so opposite of culture's prison

Domestic ties not the master of the sin

To be removed from today, old enchanting

In a house, in a home, in a tree

Til darkness comes in, glow of evening cabins

Fairies, forests, haunted children’s stories

Of this grove gave me whispered peeks

Beyond sense, ready for inspiration to speak

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Gretchen Armer

Gretchen lives in Northern California, near the ocean.

She writes stories and makes paintings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.