Poets logo

Madness

In our eyes

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Madness
Photo by Soroush Karimi on Unsplash

Madness in our Eyes

An account of obsessive love, from first glance

“as an escape, I looked into your eyes,

I saw the madness, the truth, the disguise.

I saw the demons haunting you

telling you

things untrue

those eyes that shadow me

so obsessed

melt like madness,

I must confess

my longing intensifies

and smolders so deep

the demons inside me

start to creep

inside my soul

they tear and grind

they scream so shrilly

I'm losing my mind

but it’s oh so quiet here

my ears started to ooze

a gory river as

I felt my booze

start to rise as bile and slime

pours out so bloody

...I'm dying this time

as an escape, you looked to me

and saw some things

you wished not to see

you saw the madness, the truth, the disguise

you wanted to help

but I whispered slowly, "not this time.."

I wanted to kiss you

and let our madness combine

our souls to mingle

our hearts to entwine

forever and ever

and never and never

you said, "why...?"

before I could speak

your lips were close to mine

a whisper, whimper and a kiss

so hot, entrancing... so hopeless

to escape, we looked into each other's eyes

but then my eyes sank into demise

and fell upon you

and so now we die.”

****

Originally posted on my fanfiction account

sad poetry

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.