Poets logo

Made-up with make-up

A short poem

By Rachel DeemingPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Made-up with make-up
Photo by Ashley Piszek on Unsplash

Today, I'm wearing make-up

To stay around the house.

I've only got the school runs planned,

Domestic duties to perform.

I'm not some Fifties housewife:

I'm doing it for me.

No-one else is here to see.

I like the way I look

With eyeliner and lippy.

I want the mirror to reflect

An image that is pleasing

Aesthetically speaking

In the mirror I've just wiped

After I've bleached the toilet.

Just because I can.

performance poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryinspirationalhumorGratitudeFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Love that Spirit...just because :)

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    So cute! It makes ya feel better and more alert to put on makeup and get dressed! When I worked from home for over 12 years BEFORE the pandemic, I always was ready as if going in to work.

  • Oooo, and then it should be selfies!! Hehehe loved your poem!

  • Do what makes you happy!

  • Marie Wilson5 months ago

    Love this!

  • Merrie Sanders5 months ago

    YES!!! 🙌

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    The best and only way slap should be worn in my opinion!

  • John Cox5 months ago

    This is a lovely poem, Rachel! I felt selflove and contentment radiating from it, like a pleasing warmth in the center of my being. Thanks for sharing!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    You go, Rachel! I cannot relate to this for obvious reasons, but I like the sentiment behind it and believe, both men and women should do stuff just for them, not worrying about others. I don't know also that men can and don't get nearly as much heat either way...but yeah...I also love the airy, breezy whimsical nature of this...checking your reflection in the mirror you've just wiped, appreciating the lippy and eyeliner before bleaching the toilet haha. Incidentally. I just finished cleaning the bathroom...so I felt that part of it all lol. Well done, Ms Deeming!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.