Poets logo

Made From

Inspired and in the style of George Ella Lyon's 'I am From'

By Acasia TuckerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Kate Torline on Unsplash New Mexico, Organ Mountains, Las Cruces. Road leading to mountains at dusk.

I am from a love in the 80’s

Bursting forth from wild hair and rock operas

From rollerblading and spelunking and tiny kisses.

I am from a commitment for life that ended in silence and I'm sorry's

I am from desert and mountains but my soul belongs to the sea.

I am from stagnant coffee, red nails tapping a stale cigarette in a dusty room a husband died.

I am from the brilliant minds of men, from science and math as they send mushroom clouds into the sky,

and eliminate life a world away.

Only to return home with sand on their shoes and a cough in their lungs.

From wild women, witches and wanders.

I am from artists and readers and writers. From jewelry and magic wand makers.

From exploration, new horizons, wide open fields, westward expansion

And from the people already living and loving with the land. Knowing it lives with us too.

I am from soft looks, kind eyes and kind hands. From eskimo kisses and gentle reminders not to touch that, it’s hot.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Acasia Tucker

A traveler, a people person, a writer, a coffee addict, Born to Be Loved. Currently: Colorado

Instagram:: @alittlemaebird

Blog:: http://alittlemaebird.blogspot.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.