Poets logo

Lunitas

an acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 17 days ago Updated 17 days ago 1 min read
17
Image created with Midjourney

Earth, too, eclipses sunbeams. Just as

Crescendos of excitement outbloom all that is serene, the

Lunitas dance beneath a canopy of trees.

I try to catch these "little moons" as they

Propel around my feet in crescent dreams:

Slivered sunlight--filtered by an atmosphere of leaves--

Encapsulated kisses of the cosmic world, on me.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

*

Author's Note: Unbeknownst to many, while the excitement among solar eclipse spectators begins to brew and all eyes are glued to the sky, there is something charmingly beautiful occurring here on Earth.

Lunitas means “little moons” in Spanish, and I used this term to represent the myriad of crescent moon reflections that begin to dance on the ground, in special pockets, where conditions are just right.

The appearance of these Lunitas has remained a mystery for centuries. However, science finally understands why they happen. To explain in better words than I can, here is a beautiful quote from wesa.fm:

“In the brief moments before and after the moon completely obscures the sun, just a sliver of light is visible. As that sliver travels down through the Earth's atmosphere, it hits air pockets of different densities. That causes refraction patterns to create the undulating shadows.”

I thought it was incredibly symbolic to learn that it’s not just the moon that can eclipse the sun - the Earth can, too, and we can witness the effects of this on our very own planet.

Here is an actual picture of the Lunitas phenomenon, courtesy of Adobe Stock:

You can read more about the Lunitas here:

*

Thank you so much for all your support! 🥹 I'm around a little less these days, but I'm still here and am still trying to read all your wonderful work when I'm able to. 🥹

surreal poetrynature poetry
17

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit6 days ago

    Awesome story I like it congratulations 🎉🎉

  • Grz Colm7 days ago

    Lunitas - cool. Feeling very smart today learning all these new words! Haha. 😅

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    Stunning acrostic! And I learned something. Thank you!

  • Another lovely piece

  • Heather Hubler14 days ago

    Damn, this was perfect :) You are sooo amazing. I don't know how you keep coming up with stuff like this but I'm here for it!! Too many fantastic word choices to name them all, and of course the author's note always gets me.

  • Cathy holmes16 days ago

    "Encapsulated kisses," oh, how much I love that. Wonderful, simply wonderful.

  • Oh wow, I had no idea about this occurrence. Again, this was so fascinating to me. Loved your beautiful Acrostic!

  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    This is both very educational and very romantic! Love it!

  • Thavien Yliaster17 days ago

    Me like this, but me too tired to properly comment. I'll come back, after me take nap. *conk!*

  • Ameer Bibi17 days ago

    Excellent ideas or thoughts are represented by you in your story specially about lunitas

  • Test17 days ago

    Beautifuly gently. I loved the idea of Lunitas and the additional info at the end. The phrase Crescent dreams is just stunning 🤍

  • Mariann Carroll17 days ago

    Your poetry always have a fantasy feel them 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.