Poets logo

Lunch With An Alien

More than just a pretty face

By Joe LucaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Pixabay Image

Hey, it’s really nice to meet you and all of that

Just not in my bedroom wearing my hat.

I’ve been a believer more years than I can count

wanting to see you, just thinking I’d mount,

a campaign of sorts to make it real clear

That meeting an Alien, is nothing to fear.

####

Sure, we’ve freaked ourselves out with movies like Alien,

The Thing, The Blob, and others less salient.

But it wasn’t real hatred that created those stories,

The blood and the terror and everything gory,

We just didn’t know, didn’t bother to think,

That perhaps an Alien was a brother in sync,

With the dreams that we dream, the joys that we chase,

The passions, the trauma, the loss that we face.

####

We assumed we were better, the heroes, the best,

With the Aliens made villains, the worst of the rest.

So, let me just say, from a human who's longed for this meet

That sharing my Take-out has been a really great treat.

fact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Joe Luca

Writing is meant to be shared, so if you have a moment come visit, open a page and begin. Let me know what you like, what makes you laugh, what made you cry - just a little. And when you're done, tell a friend. Thanks and have a great day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Oh this was so amazing! I loved it!

  • I enjoyed this, especially "We just didn’t know, didn’t bother to think, That perhaps an Alien was a brother in sync..." ☺️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.