Poets logo

Lunar Lament

A Poem for the Moon

By shammuPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Lunar Lament
Photo by malith d karunarathne on Unsplash

Oh, Moon, so bright and full,

Shining down upon us all.

Why must you wax and wane,

Leaving us in darkness to fall?

Your light is a comfort to some,

Guiding them on through the night.

But for others, your absence is gloom,

Filling their hearts with spite.

You are a symbol of love,

And of mystery untold.

But why must your light be so fleeting,

Like a story yet to be told?

Oh Moon, please tell me why,

You must rise and then set.

Why can't you stay in the sky,

And shine forever, yet?

But perhaps that is not your way,

To shine endlessly bright.

For though you may be fleeting,

You will always be our guiding light.

So I'll gaze up at you,

As you hang in the night sky.

And I'll cherish the time you're here,

Before you bid goodbye.

And I know that though you'll go,

You'll return once more.

So I'll wait for your light,

And forever adore.

nature poetry

About the Creator

shammu

I am a content writer at freelancer and have been working in this field for the past few years. I always put my best efforts to deliver quality work. I am very hardworking, honest, and dedicated to my work.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    shammuWritten by shammu

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.