Poets logo

Lullabies

Love Song in the key of Dream

By Veronica ColdironPublished about a year ago 1 min read
18
WallpaperCrafter.com

In the rivers of a diamond sky

On a dark night just like this,

Three men set out on a boat.

The stars winked by.

The moon blinked an eye.

Nodding, the men did float.

The Art of Scott Gustafson

Sing me a song of sixpence

Before I rest my eyes.

Let me kiss your sleeping lips

Before the magic dies.

You’re my destined prince come true

My hope on you relies,

As we go bobbing in our boat,

Among the sparkling skies.

And in my rivers of diamond sky,

We sleep in a lullaby boat.

Dragons go by as they guard the night,

From their seat in a milky way moat.

"Moon Dragon" Piece on Etsy from Art of Deb

And I’m a fairy princess girl

Arms wrapped around my prince.

And as we sleep, our dreams we keep,

In sheets of purple chintz.

Because fairy tales,

Make pleasant dreams,

For the child within our hearts.

They tell of love

We hope to see.

In sleep their magic starts.

Full Moon Fairy Princess by artist Judith Cheng - Courtesy of Fine Arts America

Sing me a song of sixpence, baby

Before I rest my eyes.

Let me kiss your sleeping lips

Before the magic dies.

You’re my destined prince come true

My hope on you relies

As we go bobbing in our boat,

Among the sparkling skies.

Image by Young L. on Deviant Art

inspirationalsurreal poetrynature poetrylove poems
18

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Wow I absolutely love this beautiful fairytale poem ❤️ Well done!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Magical, and left me in awe. Excellent poem!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely!! Loving this lullabies!!!💖💖💕

  • Awww, your lullaby was so wonderful! So magical and nostalgic! Loved it so much!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    So well written

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is a gorgeous poem, love it 🥰

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    I don't think I can say it better than anyone else. This was a magical poem with such vivid imagery and impeccable flow. I felt transported on a little adventure and loved it!

  • This is pure magic

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Feels so nostalgic!

  • Deasun T. Smythabout a year ago

    this dream was told beautifully. and the art really added to it. great poem!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    A Milky Way moat - gorgeous! This poem is surreal and vivid. Great job. The art is phenomenal, really adds to the visual experience.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Wonderful song/poem. Love it.

  • E.L. Martinabout a year ago

    Sweet and beautiful. Your image selection is perfect. I can easily read this to my son at bedtime. It definitely captures the childhood storybook feel.

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    A beautiful poem with beautiful images ❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is so gorgeous! Like a lovely lullaby. I loved this line: “Sing me a song of sixpence, baby”…. Amazing!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Love, love, LOVE!!! Wow! This is phenomenal. I felt carried through the most amazing dream. Winner!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.