Poets logo

Lub-Dub, Lub-Dub

The only faithful friend.

By The Soulful Scribbler Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lub-Dub, Lub-Dub
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

You go Lub-Dub, Lub-Dub, Lub-Dub,

I go on with my life, unaware of your Lubs and Dubs.

I’ve never seen you, just like a baby in a mother’s womb,

Still, you keep beating and pumping till I reach the tomb.

..................

I rest, sleep, procrastinate, mindlessly while away my time,

Oh, I work, you know, the man deserves a bit of downtime.

Have you ever thought about resting? Don’t you feel exhausted?

Fair enough. When I rest, you work. But if you rest, I will be cremated.

...................

I don’t remember when we commenced our intimate bonding,

You were small when I was small; you grew up with me like my twin sibling.

You dance to my beats when I am at the extremes of my scary emotions,

I am sure you must have felt dismayed a million times with all the commotion.

..........................

You keep working as seamlessly and silently as a well-made Swiss watch,

I was in love, not once, not twice; you were my partner in crime, there’s no match.

You ensure all my insides get bathed and washed every minute; it’s such a clockwork,

I am not in your league; I have, a truckload of times, dodged the shower after my day’s work.

......................

When you do choose to take a long, forever vacation,

Know that our rapport was an unblemished sacred liaison.

You were my only faithful companion; you didn’t let me down,

Even when every other earthling chose to desert my life’s town.

.....................

Take part in the Fiction challenge by becoming a Vocal+ member. Click on this link to enroll. Win $5000 and more.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

The Soulful Scribbler

Teacher, Scientist, Writer, Reader, Poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.