Poets logo

Lower Bowen

2006

By Krys Howard-ClarkePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lower Bowen
Photo by Josué AS on Unsplash

It’s just a street

I tell myself as the road sways

The same street

That’s guided me many nights before

But the shadow at my shoulder is new

A light at the still birth grief clinic flicks on

My unconceived child curls tighter

Clinging to my womb with small nails

What would I say if I were to walk in that door?

A small hand points me forward

As a broken woman searches for my eyes

Abandoned crutches dance up

An invisible body spasming

Warning me from the path I’ve taken

His warning dies with the drop of my heart

Instead, I nod in respect as I pass

When the crutches fall

I try to look back

But the shadow at my shoulder takes my hand

Pulling me along with promises of love

“I just want to be out of the cold”

I yell as the shadow forgets me

It forgets the promises

And again I stand in the same street

That has guided me home many nights

And I’m still cold

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.