Poets logo

Loving Yourself?

A poem for those struggling with self-image

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Loving Yourself?
Photo by Jovis Aloor on Unsplash

Yes, there is a vision board on my wall

While there are many body types I see, I still fall

Grey scissors have cut through figures in zines

I wonder if the world even sees me

I know that I write in thick red lines

I curve my fountain pen until it dries

I thought about how I wasn't writing enough gold

Maybe my writing will grow stale, so very old

At one point, self doubt consumed me

There is no way I can make myself into clay

To mold, to change, to be different from yesterday

From my fingertips, I am leaking silver

It is a color that shines on shoes and on mirrors

I know that I have improved from my mistakes

It is hard to revel in my own poor takes

The way that my hair falls down, black as night

I hold onto my ancestral image with all my might

So, I have ignited a change in how I look at myself

It is okay to be loved by you alone

Not one person can be a savior, you know

I feel that even if I am strange, frazzled, and bent

I can still love the way that I am

My white brain waves are heaven sent

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.