Poets logo

Loving the V'day

V is for Violence

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
8
Loving the V'day
Photo by Jeff Kingma on Unsplash

Loving the V’day

I love my Violent Valentine

the gift that keeps on giving

now, after we dine, it’s time

to hit that button on the DVD.

*

Maybe John, maybe Rocky,

but no Notebook pairs well

with my red wine,

though these M&Ms are fine as Hell!

*

You say “Here, let me fill your empty glass,

before the ass-kickin’ starts!”

I like the fight scenes and the flash,

but never when the dog dies.

*

Chills are running down my spine.

Ok, yes! Will you be my Valentine?

----------------------------------------------

Thank you for reading! This poem is based on a fine romantic evening.

SonnetFor Fun
8

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.