Poets logo

Loving an Addict

Empty Parting

By Audrey SteelePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Loving an Addict
Photo by Jordan Steranka on Unsplash

How can I wake up in your arms,

when I am not in your heart?

I want to know you deeply,

but your secrets are a wall between us.

I want you to see me,

but your focus in always elsewhere.

I want all of you,

but you have given yourself to others things

and there is nothing left for me.

***

I want to be the object of your desire,

but I settle for being needed by you.

I want to be with you forever,

but I can't seem to slow the momentum of our parting.

I dread losing you,

but I realize I've never really had you.

***

Please don't let your pain,

and the things you use to escape it,

eclipse our love.

Don't walk into the arms of the things

that have no heart

and cannot hold your hand.

Empty your arms of everything

you hold on to for relief

so that we can truly embrace.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Audrey Steele

I'm a math teacher (my apologies to the math-haters out there) but words are actually my jam. Unlike algebra, which has few practical uses, words are a powerful, creative force. They can stir hope and inspire change. They are live-giving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.