Poets logo

Lover

A Self-Love Poem

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago β€’ 1 min read
7

***

What comes to mind when you hear that word?

Does your mind go through the sexual route?

Or maybe the romantic highway interests you more.

***

Whatever it means to you;

It's commonly associated with a strong bond,

Between two breathtaking individuals.

***

I don't see that.

What do I see?

What enchants me?

The answer is quite a simple one.

***

Myself.

Yes, you heard that right.

I love myself.

But what parts of myself do I love?

***

Firstly,

I adore my dark-blue, pretty eyes.

There's just something so mysterious,

And unique about them.

They look like the void,

But they are a perfect dark-blue sea color.

***

Secondly,

I adore my pale skin.

It's so soft,

Delicate,

And beautiful.

There's also a mysterious aura that comes with my ghostly skin.

***

Lastly,

I love my body.

At such a young age,

Many women I know don't particularly love their bodies.

They haven't achieved their 'ideal' body type.

And for some,

My body would be considered a dream.

***

These particular things about myself,

I cannot change in anyway.

It's a part of me.

And I'm embracing every part,

That cannot be altered.

Otherwise, I'd be a different person...

Entirely...

***

There's an old saying,

"How do you expect someone to love you,

When you cannot even love yourself?"

Those words have been stuck in my head for far too long.

Waiting to escape onto paper,

Because those words are still true to this day.

***

I love myself.

I love the person I have become.

I am my own lover.

***

love poems
7

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.