Poets logo

Lovely Disease

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

If it's sunny, I’m freezing.

My ugly’s releasing.

Contagion is pleasing.

There’s UV lights, still no one sees us.

Nope, not even Jesus.

I’m surrounded by a deadly string of lovely diseases.

I’m breathing, yet breathless.

I’m bleeding and desperate.

To love can be helpless.

From a sickness, no one wants us.

We’re always unthought of.

Better alone, but alone is what haunts us.

Lovely disease..

It’s nice to be on top until you can’t find a way down.

It’s fun in the dark until you can’t see the way out.

Pretended to be someone else, but I won’t lose myself again.

Hearts of glass, everyone’s plastic, no thanks, I like my real skin.

Life lessons are painful.

The illness is shameful.

Reality’s baneful.

Freedom’s what to perceive.

Nothing is what it seems.

I’m infected with my lovely disease.

Too close for comfort.

No one cares when we suffer.

I’m running from shelter.

They open their minds, but they don’t know us.

If they open their hearts, they don’t show us.

Open your mouth, not my name you’ll throw up.

Opened my eyes, ‘cause it’s time that I grow up.

When it’s hot, my world freezes.

God doesn’t see this.

Ill and contagious, I’m dying from lovely diseases.

Despise that you love me.

Drag me or drug me.

Here’s the grave I just dug me.

You’re afraid just to touch me.

Below and above me.

My lovely disease is why you don’t love me.

It’s great to feel numb until you can’t feel yourself.

Real fun to climb when it’s not out of your hell.

How easy to play dumb when you know that you're smart.

Think it’s cute to break theirs until it is your heart.

It’s your agony..

Laugh at everyone’s pain, but let it be your tragedy.

Broken out of my chains, I strived to be free.

Afraid of what they thought when I tried to be me.

I’m a bird in my tree.

Cured of my lovely disease.

Please, oh please, with a cherry on top!

If I ran from the world, then I would never stop.

Please, oh please, allow me some air!

For no one’s worth fighting if they were never there.

Lovely disease..

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.