Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Lovely Bit of Nightmare Fuel

Poem...I guess. Not as sorry as I should be!

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago β€’ Updated 12 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Lovely Bit of Nightmare Fuel
Photo by Daniel Lincoln on Unsplash

Waking up, covered in sweat

Aphids crawl in every crevice

Dirt blocking out my vision

The little I can see

Is black, bleary and blurry

Where am I, what is this?

There's something sniffing

Sniffing around my ears

Nibbling at the edges

Playfully even, ticklish

Rats, mice or something

Maybe ferrets

There's that smell

Polecat, ferret smell

Worms slither in my hair

Trying to break free

Can't move my arms

Can't move my legs

Are they strapped down?

Are they weighed down?

By the sand and dirt

That covers my body

From my head to toes

Does it even matter?

I can't move

I can't escape

Stuck in this hell

Stuck in this prison

It feels like a container

Or box, or maybe coffin?

Why did i just think coffin?

Now I can't

Can't think of anything else

But coffin, confining me

My nose is itchy, dammit

That seems unimportant

But the itch is aggavating

Stuck in this hell

Stuck in this prison

By

Who know who

Who knows what

For what, for why

I could speak

If I could open my lips

My jaw is sore

Even if I could

Could I vocalise

What I'm feeling

How I'm reeling

In terror

Maybe it's time

Time to embrace it

Give in

Let it take me

Whatever it is

Whoever it is

Fighting seems

Pointless

Hopeless

In vain

How can it be

that it is hot

And also cold

There is something else

Spiders? scorpions

Crawling and biting or picking

At my skin and flesh

Why won't I wake up?

Is this even a dream?

Or a neverending nightmare

I am not even sure

if I can tell whether I...

Am awake or not

Why is it getting warmer?

Why is it getting darker?

...

*

Thanks for reading!

Just had an idea, to just write a lovely bit of nightmare fuel. I am not as sorry as I should be.

For different pieces, why not have a look at these:

You can also check out some of my other work here.

fact or fictionsurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Oooo, being buried alive has always fascinated me! I loved this so much!

  • Have you read any of Tom Baker's writings on Vocal. He talks a fair amount about sleep paralysis, & it just strikes me that this poem would fit write in.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I’m so glad my dreams aren’t influenced by my Vocal browsing. Thanks for the hellscape. 🀨

  • Sara Wilson12 months ago

    Very creepy. And totally giving Edgar Allan Poe vibes. Nice work!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Nice and creepy. A bit reminiscent of Poe's "The Premature Burial" and that's a good thing. Great work, Paul!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.