Poets logo

Love You, Too

A love poem using words 4 letters long or less.

By Katie DeePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Short and Sweet Challenge
9
Love You, Too
Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

The word just came out.

You stop, eyes wide.

Love, you said. “I love you”.

I stop too, by your side.

You look away from me, and I can tell –

You did not mean to say it out loud.

But it’s too late; the word is out

You can’t take it back now.

I see fear on your face, but in your eyes

A tiny ray of hope, too.

We don’t move an inch,

As you wait to see what I do.

I know what you want to ask,

Do you feel the same?

I’m sure you can see my mind race

As I try to find what to say.

For is it just love, when it feels like

I need you as much as the air?

When you own a part of my very soul?

And it’s far too much to bear?

I don’t know what else to say,

So I turn and look at you.

I find your hand, and look up with a grin,

And say: “Yes - I love you, too”.

love poems
9

About the Creator

Katie Dee

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Royal Golden Eagle Wings9 months ago

    I REALLY ENJOY THE love POEM 👩‍❤️‍👨💕💞

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Congratulations, Katie!

  • Marilyn Glover10 months ago

    Congratulations, Katie Dee! 👏

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Tender and sweet!!!

  • Awww, that was so sweet! Such a lovely poem!

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I really enjoyed how you conjured that moment of confrontation with the characters truths.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.