Poets logo

Love Unbound

August 18th, 2023

By Sofia Loren PerezPublished about a month ago 1 min read
3
"Love Unbound" by Erick Reyes (IG: emponfilm)

I have written so many poems

About our Love, that

If I condensed them into one piece

Romantics would consider it an Epic.

I feel as if it was an unwritten tragedy

Of Shakespeare, Plato, or Homer;

For this is far too familiar-

And I know how it ends.

Find me a cliff,

So I may plummet into jagged rocks

That clash with the ruthless sea

Like the emotionally estranged Sappho.

Or give me a dagger

to end the rhythmic beating

Of the creature trapped in my rib cage

Like the lovers of the Latin epic.

Maybe I will befall the curse

Of the Golden Apple;

And Venus shall grant me my Love

At the price of my Life, which soon ends.

I am sick with Life.

The cure is strung in Eros’ quiver:

Love or Death,

Both would end my suffering.

performance poetryslam poetrysad poetryProselove poemsheartbreakFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Sofia Loren Perez

Entries from my lifelong series: The Diary of a Biracial Girl. All work is my own. Find me on social media: @thesofloren.

"Through waves of insanity

Your solace rises in the East

And calms my stormy waters."

-Solace

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew C McDonaldabout a month ago

    Very evocative. This seethes with unrequited emotion. Great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.