Poets logo

Love

Selfless love

By Young AndraPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Love
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

It feels like just yesterday I replied your message

And you managed to steal my heart before I could even notice

I was too engross in the words that comes out of your mouth

The sparkle that fills your eyes

That I didn’t notice that with every word you say I fall deeply for you

And when you call my name

My heart stutter for a minute

There is something about the way you look at me that makes me feel safe

I love everything about you, even the flaws that makes you imperfect

I don’t know if love is meant to make you feel this way

Forgive my uncertainty, for this is all alien to me

For the first time, I genuinely do care about someone’s happiness

And for the first time, my love is selfless

And I don’t care what I might get in return

And now, I feel like I understand a little of what Jesus felt on the cross

Loving and giving your all to someone and not knowing if it will be reciprocated

love poems
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    that's so beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.