Poets logo

Love’s Solace

Renewal

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
6
Love’s Solace
Photo by Razvan Ioan on Unsplash

We shuffle, room to room, not touching

Lost, lonely shadows, of ourselves

Tattered hearts, cold hands still clutching

A Lifeless love, in empty shells

First came the playfulness of butterflies.

And magic only first love knows.

Awakened to love's feigned disguise

As brokenness appears, exposed

The callous pain wounding a heart

My heart bleeds red, staining the page

Tears fall cleansing the unseen parts

Replaced with time's gentle assuage

Another year has come to pass

And with it, bouts of happiness

Memories of a lifetime last

Through laughter, tears and loneliness

And I, a witness to it all

My heart forever to confess

Offer solace from the fall

And in love’s tender arms find rest

surreal poetrylove poemsheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    May you find that tender rest in loving arms you so thoroughly deserve, Kelli.

  • "A Lifeless love, in empty shells". I had to read this line several times. I mean I've heard of loveless life but not vice versa. Took me awhile to grasp lifeless love and it hit me so hard. Very well done!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Kelli, you are an absolute fount of creativity and style! What a lovely example this is!

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    So sweet and heartwarming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.