Poets logo

Love's Magic

Young love is the closest thing you'll ever have to real magic.

By Veronica ColdironPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
10

Fading light drifts into shadows, the toil of day is done

Heartsick thoughts hold me in place, in depths of waning sun.

Smoldering embers burn in me, warm nights from long ago

When time stood still as stone for us, to help love's magic grow

Deep shadows holding us in time, young lover's lost together

No sleep was ever necessary, souls entwined forever

But youth is fleeting in this world... here, then gone the next,

Until I lie alone heartbroken, by my memories vexed

Like shards of a thousand broken mirrors, sparkling in the dark

With images of your face alight, still glowing in my heart

Regret comes home in softened hues, in the memory of your voice

Sharing love and dreams with me, and things we ought rejoice

But emptiness is beckoning, firelight simmering low

And you're no longer here with me, as winter's breath turns cold

I go wearily to my unrest, with cuts so thin and deep

My heart so low I scarcely breathe, until I see you in my sleep.

Now my toil meets with the dusk, it's with you that I belong

Like we were so long ago, love's magic alive and strong

heartbreaksad poetrylove poemsinspirational
10

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Awww, just beautiful and so deep

  • The yearning here was so intense! So poignant and heartbreaking. Loved your poem!

  • Test6 months ago

    This line is so beautiful and shows that the speaker's lost love is always in their heart, even in their dreams.💕❤️❤️

  • Linda Rivenbark6 months ago

    A beautiful expression of the wonder and magic of young love, and the heartache of loss. Well done!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Heartfelt & beautiful!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • 🪄Just like magic ✨ 💖📝😉Nice Job👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.