Poets logo

Love's Chasing Game

*She said, He said *Not a mushy love poem

By LittleWrenWrites Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Love's Chasing Game
Photo by Azrul Aziz on Unsplash

Love's Chasing Game

c2021

Blank stare.

I don't care.

I know it's not fair.

But he's clear the f*** over there,

and always wanting me to chase him.

Pain has already set in.

I let it win.

I'm done.

He can have his fun.

I'm not following along.

This is his game and song.

I am done with this hamster wheel of cat and mouse.

Can't we just talk in one spot in the house?

I'm tired.

I'm tired of having to chase down love.

She didn't come to me.

Why didn't she follow?

She knows I want her affection.

It's not just about the erection.

But she keeps herself distant from me.

Can't she see,

just how much I truly need her?

There he goes again.

I can see it very clear.

He expects me to come to him.

"But YOU just walked away from ME, my dear."

Yet, somehow he can't see this.

And in the past explaining hasn't worked.

So, I find myself in a position,

I feel like such a jerk.

He just sits there with that same sad face,

wanting ME to fix HIS error.

The problem is,

I can't be the full emotional weight bearer.

I need him to STAY with me,

without the chasing game.

As we grow together, we need to keep moving the same.

And I can't keep up with those old routines.

So, I cry as my heart tries to clean.

All I really want is to be heard and seen.

Oh no, she's crying.

Maybe she feels guilty? Maybe she's trying?

I should go to her, but I can't.

What if she doesn't receive me?

Look at this distance between us.

Oh, emotions please don't deceive me.

She needs me.

I must go to her.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

LittleWrenWrites

aka. Adele Pena

Short Stories, Poetry, & Prose.

Author's Bio & Other Social Site Links: https://mez.ink/littlewrenwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.