Poets logo

love

(is blind)

By Sara Published 9 months ago 1 min read
5

i know love is blind

cuz i fell into the arms

of darkness

and now i cannot see

because she holds her hand

over my eyes

but i know she is beautiful.

she has me waiting

at the window

for her return

i count the minutes

and the tiles on the bathroom ceiling.

when she is not with me

i do not cry

and i do not smile

i do not even blink.

but when she comes

for me

she brings me tears

and holds my hair back

when i vomit

memories

then we smoke cigarettes

in bed

and talk about

breaking things.

everyone tells me

i am better off

without her

but my body trembles

when she tells me of the sun

and how it burns

when you look at it

so i asked her to stay

the night

and maybe forever.

love poemssurreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Iron Maiden feedback incoming, you asked for it (this is to say I am not just being mean!)..... So, firstly, somehow for me the use of the colloquial "cuz" all on its own jarred slightly - it wasnt part of a wider pattern of speech, which would have made it blend. I also found that there was a transition from imagery about falling into darkness, about blind love, and that was nicely done with the use of hands and arms to create a sense of using touch rather than sight, to show the importance of something beyond physical attraction, into imagery which was contingent upon using sight for it to have impact - waiting at the window, not blinking, looking at the tiles. Of course, this may have been deliberate, in which case perhaps it needed to be underscored more, the difference between the blindness of togetherness and the bland seeing of apartness.

  • Test9 months ago

    So poignatly tragic and beautiful. You have such an ability make your poetry flow so effortlessly but at the same time jar at the heartstrings. 🤍🤍🤍

  • This felt so relatable! Beautiful poem!

  • Wow that is powerful and spanned so many emotions. This was quite unique and well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.