Poets logo

Love Me For Who I Am

Let Me Be Free To Be Who I Really Am

By Carol TownendPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Love Me For Who I Am
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

The sky is velvet midnight,

And the stars twinkle,

It's a pretty sight.

We're lying on the ground,

Staring at each other without

making a sound.

Suddenly you say to me,

"Please change your hair,"

You tell me you don't like it,

But why should I care?

I stand,

And you look me up and down,

"Are you really that tall?"

You ask me, with that sarcastic frown,

"Should I really care at all? Can't

You love me small?"

I ask though you make

no sound.

You go on to tell me,

That my heels are a disgrace,

But I get up and walk away,

With a smile on my face.

One thing you should've learned today,

Is love me as I am,

For love is not about changing me,

So let me be free to be,

Who I really am.

social commentarylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    I love this! Beautiful sentiment, perfectly written. ❤️ You set the whole scene so well; you're visual language brings the storytelling and your message to life! 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.