Poets logo

Love Me

a poem

By Nichole M. WilldenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Love Me
Photo by Bluebird Images on Unsplash

“Love me!” It seems like two very innocent, simple words. It’s the plea of everyone who has every posted a vague status on Facebook, or ever called the suicide hotline, or ever made some foolish, desperate act to get the attention of the people they care about. “Love me” seems like it should be very simple to say. But it’s not.

I have hidden away from those words all my life. From the first moment someone I loved used my desperation to be loved as the reason to separate from me, I faded. No, before that, when the family I loved fell apart because of love, I faded. Before that. I was abused by someone who said they loved me, and I faded.

I learned that needing to be loved was a dangerous, despicable crime and should be avoided at all costs. That’s what life taught me, and I was an impressive, diligent student. I learned to hide. I buried myself in fiction (you’re welcome), and barricaded myself behind lies. Like a sociopath, I never let anyone within arms’ reach, so that when they smiled conspiratorially and thought to themselves, “I know her. I have her figured out!” I could smile into my soul and know without a hint of doubt that they were wrong. No one knows me, I would celebrate to myself. No one has a chance.

I’m not celebrating anymore. You know the cost of not asking to be loved? Do you know the cost of not allowing yourself to be vulnerable? Do you know what I paid for not being “high-maintenance” and a “basket-case”? A bucket of loneliness inside a fortress of solitude.

Well, I’m tired of being lonely. And I’m tired of hiding.

Please love me.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Nichole M. Willden

Nichole M. Willden is a poet, writer, and author of The Guild series. A survivor of indoctrination and abuse, Nichole has spent decades writing fiction that sizzles with themes of enslavement, hope, and resilience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Bolanos2 years ago

    Nichole, I don't hear sadness in this at all. I hear strength and hope and a woman who has found herself. Congrats!! Jennifer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.