Poets logo

Love Like Water

Poem on the endurance of love

By Christal MimsPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

I want love like water

Love like need,

like sustenance.

Love to cause shipwrecks

Love to bring me back to shore.

Love like, I always want more.

Love like I’ve had too much.

Love like I need to get it out.

Love like even still,

I bring it back to my mouth.

I want to love like water.

All over you until you’re clean

In you until you’re satisfied,

overflowing,

smoothing every wrinkle,

seeping through every crease,

every line.

I want to love heavy, love light,

love like whatever you need this night.

Love like you can’t contain it.

Love like rain,

like a storm’s hit.

Love like oceans.

Love like,

you don’t even know the half of it.

Love like resilience.

With the power to create

With the power to destroy.

Love like I’m everywhere

Love like you depend on me to be here.

I will always be here.

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CMWritten by Christal Mims

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.