Poets logo

Love Letters

-an oldie-

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Love Letters
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I love words

I love those that roll off the tongue,

Those that stumble and fall

You mouth and start, and stop

Those that have you Googling what it means

Looking up how it sounds,

The story behind it

Latin, Greek,

Oh i know so many words come from across the sea

My favorite word used to be the f-bomb

Yeah yeah yeah I know

Mother never heard me utter it,

But she’d raise her hand with a glare as soon as the first letter came out

Daring me for the rest

I just know it

But, the way it would fit perfectly

You drop a book

F-

You talk about sex

F-ing

You get excited,

Big smile now and

Say

F-

I love words that you probably use a few times in your lifetime

Words that mean many things

Flowery words

Like spontaneous

Words that hit

like combust

Words that don’t always have a happy ending when you put them together

Spontaneously combust

I love how some words are made up,

Yet all words are made up,

And you can make up a word

That, when said enough,

When given a definition or way of saying it,

Makes it into the dictionary

Words that makes sense only to a few people,

Or to some millions but the other millions

Wouldn’t know it

Words that translate over

But not quite

Words that you whisper in ears

That’ll send tingle down spines

Make a child shut their mouth

Or a lover bite their lip

Words that not all people can say

I love words.

And I hope they love me back,

Even though sometimes they don’t seem to always have my back

Back,

See that’s a word with different meanings

I love that word

And its meanings comprised of words

Anyway,

This is my love letter

Signed sealed delivered

To words

I say three words

Do I need to spell them out?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.